Mac support being dropped

Our Fleet Forums Public Lounge Main Deck Mac support being dropped

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Lhivera
    Fleet Member

STO is officially dropping their Mac client. I’ll have to decide what this means for me. I’ve always made official Mac support a basic requirement for any game I play; it was a huge part of why I started playing WoW and kept at it for nine years, and the introduction of the Mac client is what brought me over from WoW to STO. And as a practical matter, I’d need to buy a new computer to keep playing; my old Mac Mini barely squeaks by with the official client, and isn’t really up to the job running with the WINE wrapper. And I don’t particularly want to buy a new computer, because it’s perfectly good for everything else I use it for.

No firm decision yet. I’ll keep you all posted.

Marcase
    Admiral (Retired)
    Founder 44th Delta FleetFleet Shindig Risa 2019Team Player

Well that sucks canal water. I know that the % of Mac players is low, but that still means ( potential) customers. Heck, Aaron Eisenberg is a die-hard Mac user, so that’s a supporter they’ll lose.

"Boldly bashing Borg to bits since 2012..."

Damix
    Vice-Admiral
    Team Player

Big fail from their side. Why did they started it if they aren’t capable of supporting it.

Are there any other emulators so you can launch it from Mac?

Lhivera
    Fleet Member